Oyo Assembly Extends Tenure of Caretaker Chairmen

Oyo State House of Assembly has granted another four months tenure extention to the Caretaker Committee Chairmen in the 33 local government areas and the Local Councils Development area of the state.

The resolution followed the acceptance of a request by the governor for the local government areas in the state.

This is due to the inability of the state government to conduct local government elections following the embargo and an injunction that refrain the APC Ajimobi led Administration not to conduct an election until the case is settled in the court of law.

According to the Presiding Officer, Oyo State House of Assembly, Micheal Adeyemo, the House granted the extension, on Thursday, at a sitting presided over by the Speaker, Honourable Michael Adeyemo.

The tenure of the current caretaker chairmen, was reviewed upward for three months, on April 6 12, 2017, and would lapse on July, 7, 2017 and the latest renewal of four months tenure would lapse in November 6,2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: