National Chairman: PDP S/W BOT endorses Adedoja, George, Adeniran, knocks out Ladoja and others. 

National Chairman: PDP S/W BOT endorses Adedoja, George, Adeniran, knocks out Ladoja and others.


AHEAD of the Elective National Convention of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, ‎for the elections of its new National officers, the South West Board of Trustees, BOT, caucus of the party has pruned the numbers of Chairmanship aspirants from the Zone to three with a promise to pick one of the trio as a consensus Candidate for the office .

This was contained in a document signed by a member of the Board who was also a one-time Deputy National Chairman of the Party. On behalf of other members, Alhaji Shuibu Oyedokun, dated November 3rd, this year and obtained by Tribune Online in Abuja yesterday

According to the document, ‎the successful trio shortlisted aspirants are, Professor Taoheed Adedoja, one time Sports and Special Duties Minister as well as a Former Provost of the Federal College of Education, (Special) Oyo, Chief Olabode George, Former National Vice and Deputy Chairman of the Party as well ‎as the former Military Governor of the old Ondo State and Professor Tunde Adeniran, Former Education Minister and former Nigeria Ambassador to Germany.

Incidentally, the three shortlisted aspirants were founding members of the Party and the duo of George and Adeniran are members of its BoT, which is the conscience of the Party.

Those that were knocked out of the race, according to the document are Senator Rashid Ladoja former Oyo State Governor and until recently the founder and National Leader of the Accord Party, AP, Otunba Gbenga Daniel, former Ogun State Governor, Professor Wale Oladipo, the immediate National secretary of the Party, Jimi Agbaje, the Gubernatorial Candidate of the Party in Lago State in the 2015 election and Akin-Deko Akintayo from Ondo State.

According to the Document, the Caucus ‎picked Chief Bode George to represent Ogun- Lagos axis, Prof Toaheed Adedoja from Osun- Oyo axis and Prof Tunde Adenirn from Ekiti and Ondo axis respectively.

The caucus said that its action was based on the following: “Numerous calls and wise counsel from several quarters to prune down the number of contestants to manageable number. “The need to improve the chance of South West to clinch the position of the National Chairman of the Party at the Convention.” Reduce tension, rancour and friction that may arise before, during and after the Convention among the winner and other contestants. “Assist the voting process on the election day.” Reduce expenditure for non-recommended contestants. “Present manageable list of contestants from the South West to compete Favourably with any other contestant(s) from any other Zone(s) from the SOUTH.” To avoid splitting of votes among contestants from the South West and.” To provide a soft landing for non-recommended aspirants”.

It pointed out that it had, “in the overall interest of the Party and after wide and due consultations, we have been taken cognizance of various factors such as experience, acceptability across Nigeria, Educational exposure, vision, public perception, international visibility, winning chances, Party standing nationwide, members perception and expectations

According to it, “below is the list of aspirants recommended by the South-West Members of the Board of Trustees to contest from the South- West at the National Convention of the Party

“This RECOMMENDATION by the Board of Trustees is without prejudice to the right of any contestant outside the recommended list to contest, it is also without prejudice to the provisions of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and the provisions of the constitution of our great Party “Adedoja Taoheed Prof (Oyo state) Adeniran Tundae Prof (Ekiti State) George Olabode Chief (Lagos State)”.

The Caucus however promised that efforts were on top gear to prune the shortlisted to only single one after further wide consultations ahead of the National Convention slated for December 9 this year in Abuja.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: